Latur District Website Latur District Website Latur District Website Latur District Website Latur District Website
    A+   A   A- Home   H_line District Administration  H_line e-Governance  H_line Public Representatives  H_line Contact Us मराठी
Search in Site
District Profile
Latur district has an ancient historical background. The King 'Amoghvarsha' of Rashtrakutas developed the Latur city, originally the native place of the Rashtrakutas.
  The Rashtrakutas who succeeded the Chalukyas of Badami in 753 A.D called themselves the residents of Lattalut.

The Latur District is in the south-eastern part of the Maharashtra state. Latur town is situated on the 18.7° latitude and 73.25° longitude. The district is situated on the Maharashtra  Karnataka boundary. On the eastern side of the Latur is Bidar district of Karnataka, whereas Nanded is on the northeast, Parbhani on the northern side, Beed on the Northwest
 and Osmanabad on the western and southern side.The entire district of Latur is situated on the Balaghat plateau, 540 to 638 mtrs from the mean sea level.

Manjara is the main river which flows on the Balaghat plateau along with its tributaries: Terna, Tawarja and Gharni. The other three tributaries of Manjara are Manyad, Teru and  Lendi which flow on the northern plains.

Manjara : This is the main river. Its origin is near the Gaukhadi Village of Beed district. The river flows from the nothern boundaries of the Osmanabad district and cutting across
 the Latur district goes to Karnataka State
Gharni : The river has its origin near Wadval and flows through Chakur taluka.
Terna : This is the main tributary of Manjara which flows on the southern boundary of the Ausa taluka .
Tawarja : Tawarja originates near Murud in Latur taluka and joins the Manjara river at Shivani on the Latur-Ausa boundary
Lendi : The river has its origin in Udgir taluka and flowing through the Ahmadpur taluka joins the Tiru river in Nanded district .
Manyad : This river takes its origin at Dharmapuri in Beed district and flows through the Ahmadpur taluka into Nanded district.
The area of Latur district is 7157sq.kms. The district is divided into five sub-divisions and 10 Talukas. The number of village in Latur district according to the 2011 census, is 948

Sr.No. sub-divisions Talukas
1 Latur Latur
2 AusaRenapur Ausa, Renapur
3 Nilanga Nilanga, Shirur Anantpal, Deoni
4 Udgir Udgir, Jalkot
5 Ahmedpur Ahmedpur, Chakur


The Geographical boundries of the Tahsils within the district.

The major roads across the district.



latur district website latur district website AGMARKNET latur district website latur district website ** PLEASE DESCRIBE THIS IMAGE ** latur district website
Contact Us Site Designed & Developed by Site Map

No. of Visitors since 13th June, 2011.

Latur District Website

National Informatics Centre
Department of Information Technology,
Ministry of Communications and Information Technology,
District Centre Latur.

Site is best viewed in Internet Explorer 7 & above with resolution 1024x768

Latur District Website
Disclaimer : All the contents provided, maintained and updated by the District Administration Latur. email ID :